People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Whether people are advised to follow their emotions or their brain to make a decision is a dilemma and most people have varying opinions. A decision based on pure emotions, then followed by logic to justify it seems rather poor and wrong for several reasons.

Decision making is a skill to be acquired and practiced by humans as they progress in life. First, as children, we tend to follow our emotion as our main motivation because reason is yet to be accumulated and cultivated by experience. As grown-ups, our thinking strategies evolve and we rely more on our brains for logical, well-grounded decisions. As an example, choosing a major at the university level should be based on what you think is right for you rather on what you feel you should be doing for the rest of your career. Emotion is liable to change and so it can't be reliable to make those huge decisions in life. You have to study each evidence and reason that you think about before making any move. Choosing a major should tackle the ambition you have and what jobs are present in real life. You can easily regret a decision you took on the basis of your emotion, before asking other people in the field and how they view their career and life choices. Emotion alone is not to be dependent upon when attempting to take a decision.

Another reason why emotional decisions tend to be poor and weak is the bias logic that comes afterwards. When people take a decision based on what they feel at that moment, they try to find justifications later on to keep that decision. This process of reasoning is flawed as it collects data and justification to agree with a decision rather than study all the perspectives before taking it. An example is staying in an abusive relationship because you feel like you love the person and hide all reasons that say he is ruining your life. Emotional decisions are fastidious and irrational when your emotions are at peak levels. You might find several reasons to make your decision not to terminate a relationship that is eating you alive because when reasoning comes, you tend to find other good virtues to consider. As human beings, we tend to think positively and back up our thoughts with one-sided arguments which is not healthy for our decision making. We should learn to think first before choosing and reach this balance in our everyday life.

In conclusion, a human being is a combination of emotional and intellectual intelligence and he should try to use both to take a good decision. What comes first is thinking that originates from previous experience to judge emotions and control them while taking a rational decision. What makes a decision strong is the ability to logic and reason apart from emotion.