People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

We, humans seldom make any decisions that aren't emotional. In every walk of life, we tend to make emotional decisions from choosing the colour of the outfit to starting a war. Some decisions turn out to be great, some not so good and some even detrimental to our existence. Being THE sentient species on this planet, we ought to apply our faculties more in decision making.

In context to the statement, I agree to it in theory, as it is speaking about a specific category of people who make emotional decisions and justify them after the fact. Let us take an example of stock trading. An automotive stock trader bets big on a car company stock that he/she heard about in the news and suddenly the market takes a dive with the particular going into negative profit territory. Here, the trader keeps on hanging to the stock hoping for a reversal against convention, and he starts giving all kinds of logic to himself/herself. The stock purchase wasn't a poor decision, as it was based on information and intuition from trading automotive stocks, however, hanging on to it amidst losses was.

If today, I am late to class and provide the logic that I was helping a disabled person reach his destination. Does that make me a poor decision maker? You could argue that it is, based on the class's perspective, but it was as a decision, I would happily take again.

In summary, I would say that emotional decisions bring out the best and worst in us. In the end, it depends on the decision's context, the beneficiaries, motivations and the actual result of the decision.