People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Logic and Emotions are the interplay of the human function; yet which drives what is under question in this essay. The prompt states that people who make decisions based on their emotional drives and try to justify them with logic are poor decision makers. I agree with the above statement for the following three reasons.

To begin with, in any matter whether matters of state, family or social, we need sound logic, thinking and a well structured decision making process. Such a process cannot be driven by emotions; our emotions control our sentiments that tend to render us vulnerable and usually unable to take neither sound nor logical decisions especially in crisis or in times of need. For instance, rulers of state such as Winston Churchill, did not depend on his emotional drive while deciding how to end World War II and relief England of its misery. Nor did Roosevelt, when he had to take on of the hardest decisions of his life and to drag the USA to one of the most viscous wars of all lifetime. Yet his decision saved humanity...If these political figures had depended on their emotions they might have balked or taken a different path. The course of history might have changed forever.

Moreover, decision making is a complex process on all levels and is manipulated by many and all. We encounter this process in our daily lives, at home, at work and on the streets. If we are to allow our emotions to be the functional drive of this complex process, I believe that humanity will have a lot of problems. A simple household example will magnify such a problem; dealing with children and their misconduct. Usually parents opt for grounding, discipline, lack of privileges and other different tracks; however, when the factor of emotions gets into play, the parent will likely subdue to the child and the rules will eventually bend. This simple example is a reflection of a problem that can happen in any different context.

People of all levels need sound judgement, and logical thinking in order to make decisions. However, when these do not come into play we are bound to encounter major problems and these problems differ in nature depending on the level of the person taking the decisions. For instance, if we go back in history and remember Hitler and his fanaticism no one can deny that he was a leader who was driven by his fanatic emotional drive to rule the world and cleanse it. His emotions were his guidance definitely not logic or sound judgement.

Finally, I believe that we have a gift of the brain to think and evaluate the decisions that we face everyday. We need emotions to balance that brain and makes more human. It is after all a combination of the two, but the usage of each in its correct place is the key to success!