People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

In context to the given statement, I would completely agree with the idea that discussions cannot be made on basis of emotions. Emotions are part of a human system so that we can feel our environment, and not to make decisions with it. If we were to make decisions on basis of emotions, we would rather be counted among animals. The only thing that separates us from animals is our intellect, our ability to respond on basis of our logic.

Decisions made using emotions are impulsive. It comes as a response to the stimulus. We might get angry at a certain situation, but anger doesn't bears us forever. For instance, we find that a colleague we are working with doesn't completes a task assigned to him by you. On basis of your impulse, first thing you would want to be is scold him and insult him in your fury against the incomplete task. On contrary, there is a possibility that he was stuck with something that was of utmost priority to him at that given instance, let's say, he was unwell due to which we couldn't focus on the task and complete it. The other side, really helps us understanding our reaction, which wouldn't be a case when we respond using our impulse.

Emotions are something that hinders are logical processing. We react to people positively when we are happy, we react negatively when we are said. This doesn't counts the possibilities we should consider before making a decision. For instance, when someone is persuasive we usually tend to incline to what he/she has to say, because we tell our emotion direct our decision.

Once a decision is made emotionally and then tried to be covered with our logic, will actually backfire at us. Consider, that a person 'A' dispelled a person 'B' from the job for some reason, 'C' peeps through the whole situation and is crestfallen for the loss of 'B', impulsively 'C' gives a refuge to 'B'. Over a period of time, 'C'realizes that 'B' is clumsy, neglectful, and lacks a certain skills required to do the job. Now that the damage is done, 'C' has to rather bear the presence of 'B' or he can replace 'B' be with someone else, in either case he will be doing the same thing 'A' did to him. Therefore, it is better to analyze before drawing a conclusion.

Emotions could also serve a helpful purpose in times of need. When we need to get the work done which we are unable to do with our humbleness, we need to use anger to get an alternate response. Whatever, the case is, emotions will eventually turn against us, whereas an analytical response will eliminate a backfire and also serve an unprejudiced response. For it was the reasoning of Tyrion Lannister in Game of Thrones, that help him survive and help others, and not his emotions.