An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The government has taken a very creative initiative to introduce a Vitamin A as a part of food, which forms a great part of daily routine of the inhabitants. However, the idea is flawed and is subject to a lot of questions, that needs to be answered before executing this idea publicly.

Firstly, though the International Development organization has create a new breed of millet that has abundance of Vitamin A, they haven't stated anything regarding their test in the environmental conditions of Tagus. There is a possibility that this new breed of millet won't withstand the weather conditions of Tagus. Like, the new breed of millet require exuberant water, which would not so easily available in Tagus.

Secondly, the recommendation states that farmers can easily grow the new breed as a replacement for the existing one. What it doesn't consider is their source of income. The farmers of Tagus could be using millet as their source of income. If the farmers grows this new breed of millet and is not accepted among their market, they would be at a great loss, which will hamper their source of income. Also, the change in price of the seeds, will eventually result in increase of selling price. There is no mention of market that is willing to pay high price for a staple food item.

Thirdly, the recommendation does not state the testing of the given breed of millet on the people of Tagus. Considering the genetic development of Tagus residents, there is a possibility that millet might not actually fraught the deficiency of Vitamin A, and even if it does, there is no mention of any side effect that might result from consumption of the new breed.

Though the initiative is well formed and guided, it needs to investigate the new breed at local level, which will help them with better understanding of the realistic output.