People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

The statement deems those who justify their emotional decisions, after they have been made, poor decision makers. I tend to disagree with this statement for two major reasons as explained in the sequel.

First, the statement makes a broad assumption that good decisions are always preceded by logic. We all know that sometimes people make decisions based on intuition, emotions, experience, and/or a combination of these and not necessarily on the basis of a firm logical framework. For example, when one feels like a vehicle is fast approaching, he/she automatically pull herself/himself out of the way in order to remain safe. This reflection is not because the individual has performed gone through some calculated decision making in her/his mind before committing the act. Rather, it is a product of his/her intuition built from various sources.

Even if we assume that decisions are always preceded by some sort of a rationale, the statement tends to dehumanize people by detaching emotions from their "logical" decisions. I believe individuals, even when making decisions based on a logical thought process, subconciously may draw on their emotions and intuitions in making a final decision. That is, the decision making process is rather a holistic approach than a discrete one. For example, when a student decides to select a university for his studies, he may not base his decision solely on cost, curriculum, size of the faculty, and other quantifiable factors. Rather, he may consider "emotional" aspects such as location of the university, livelihood of the city, distance from hometown, and many other considerations. Hence, to think that emotional decision making is poor decision making is a mere fallacy, let alone rationalizing the decision after the fact.

In conclusion, we provided two primary reasons for disagreeing with the statement presented here. Although, the opposing worldview is found to be somewhat valid on the account that generally sound-minded people are expected to have rationalized their decisions before committing to one, it is deemed immaterial to cause a shift in our position. This expectation is believed to be based on a misunderstanding of the thought process of human beings.