The argument makes a reccomendation to allocate less time to weather and local news and more time to national news coverage in order to reverse the loss in revenue and the decline in the number of viewers experienced during the past year, which is believed to have stemmed from devoting more time to weather and local news coverage.

The argument makes a reccomendation to allocate less time to weather and local news and more time to national news coverage in order to reverse the loss in revenue and the decline in the number of viewers experienced during the past year, which is believed to have stemmed from devoting more time to weather and local news coverage. This argument is flawed in various ways, among which three stand out the most.

First, the arguement does not quantify any of the assertions made, which makes it difficult for the reader to gauge the severity of the "problem." The argument informs that relatively less time was devoted to local news coverage during the past year. How much less? is it a few minutes or several hours? The same caveat holds for the number of complaints received, the number of advertisers who cancelled their contracts, and the loss in revenue. Without this data, one cannot judge, even if ture, whether the time "misallocation" has had a material impact to call for a new policy and/or budget allocation for that matter. For instance, if the company only experienced a $200k loss, which happens to be less than 0.5% less than the previous year or only observed a 5% loss in the number of viewers, the "problem" may not warrant an action as it may suggest a different issue. The arguement would have been stregthened had it provided more granular information about the magnitude of each of the facts stated.

Second, even if the data was quantified and a correlation was indeed observed, it does not necessarily entail a causation. Just because a downtrend in the number of viewers and revenue is observed, it does not necessarily mean that the relatively higher local news coverage has lead to it, rather this might have been merely a coincidence. One can think of many other reasons why this might have occured. For example, a new TV station may have entered the media industry during the past year, which outperformed the company's performance during the past year. Different news anchors may have been employed by the company during the past year, which might have deterred the regular viewers due to their relatively lackluster performance. The argument would have been stregthened had it provided the results of an array of studies to keep all varying variables fixed in order to understand the root cause.

Last but not least, the arguement does not provide details about the content of the complaints about the local news coverage. The complaints might have been only about the anchors, the duration of the different segments of the news show, the guests, or even the advertisements themselves.Without carefully analyzing the content and the origin of the complaints, one cannot assume that the more time allocated to local news coverage was the reason behind these complaints. The arguement would have been stronger if it had provided a summary of these complaints.

To sum up, the argument was found to be fallacious hence not convincing in making its final reccomendation to devote more time to national news coverage. This is primarily due to unfounded assumptions implicitly presumed to be true as detaield above.