An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

This argument is flawed in various ways, among which the following four stand out the most.

First, the argument fails to quantify the increased cost of production as well as the amount of subsidies provided by the government. Without these two figures, it is not readily verifiable whether the initiative will incentivize the farmers to produce more of the millet. In this regard, if the amount of subsidy is well below the marginal cost of producing this new type of millet, the farmers may opt to increase the price of the product, which may in turn make it less affordable for people, hence defeating the purpose of introducing the initiative. The argument would be stronger if the subsidies and the marginal product cost of millet were quantified.

Second, the argument implicitly assumes that people will adopt the new product just because one of its ingredients, millet, is a staple food already. This is not a given unless verified. Food preferences and tastes vary across individuals. For example, some people may have a strong bent toward organic products rather than engineered products. Some people may prefer canned food while others prefer freshly made food. The bottom line is that people have different preferences and one cannot make such a strong assumption ignoring the effect of product variety. The study could affirm this assumption if it had produced a survey inquiring about people's idea about the product variety.

Next, the study further assumes that just because a product contains enough Vitamin A, it is bound to succeed. What if the product does not create any traction and people continue their consumption behavior regardless of the new program? what if people actually buy lots of the millet and still stay deficient in Vitamin A? Once again, the assumption cannot be made without validation. The argument would be strengthened if a previous study including a control group was performed to verify that the new product indeed manifested a difference in Vitamin A levels of people studied.

Last but not least, the argument calls for government's support in promoting the new product at all costs. Even if all previous assumptions were verified, it does not necessarily provides a reasonable ground to make such a recommendation. The government is expected to be prudent in managing its resources. There may be more pressing concerns in the country requiring a more immediate attention than responding to people's Vitamin A deficiency. Therefore, to conclude that the government should do anything to support the initiative is not logical.

In summary, four major unfounded assumptions were examined above, upon which the argument is believed to be flawed and questionable. Therefore, in the author's view, the argument has failed to provide sufficient and convincing evidence in supporting its conclusion for the government to promote the new product at all costs.