The statement claims that inculcating the trait of cooperation rather than competition in young people is the best way to prepare them for leadership positions.

The statement claims that inculcating the trait of cooperation rather than competition in young people is the best way to prepare them for leadership positions. I tend to disagree with this statement on two primary accounts as detailed in the sequel.

First and foremost, I find it hard to accept that the "best" way to prepare people for leadership is to only focus on one single dimension. Even though the question of cooperation versus competition may be relevant, it is not the only aspect to focus on when it comes to leadership. In fact, a leader is expected to demonstrate an array of skills and traits, among which cooperation and competition can be argued to be trivial. Emotional intelligene, transformational leadership, emotional appeal, and the like are among the more substantial personality traits to develop and implant in young people in preparing them for future leadership positions. Therefore, leadership is an intricate concept and demands a more hollistic view incorporating various skills, traits, and qualifications and one cannot oversimplify the concept of leadership development by solely focusing on one aspect.

Even if the question can hypothetically be oversimplified to competition or cooperation, a leader is eventually bound to fail if he or she develops one extreme as opposed to a balance of both. This is because a leader most likely than not would encounter various situations and predicaments which may call for either or both. For instance, at times of war, a leader may be expected to exhibit a more competitive nature to defend his land and people while a more cooperative attitude may be required when countries are working toward a coalition to combat global warming. Hitler, the German leader, examplified a competitive trait and very few people can argue that he was a great example of leadership. Likewise, an extremely cooperative leader will find himself helpless in situations calling for a cmopetitive nature.

Having said that, I acknowledge some cogency in the opposing wordlview. We all know from common knowledge and experience that agreeable people tend to make more friends and tend to get more buy in, which may lead some people to believe that effective leaders ought to be agreeable too. However, as explained earlier, this generalization does not apply to the arena of leadership due to its sophisticated nature requiring not only cooperation but many other skills.

In summary, the statement was found to be very shallow hinging on only one trait among many other skills and qualifications a leader demands. Furthermore, it was argued that a balance of both, rather than an extreme in either is more pertinent. Although we acknowledged some cogency in the opposing wordlview, it is ultimately deemed immaterial to cause a shift in our position.