he argument balmes insufficient and ineffective marketing to be the culprit in explaining why less people viewed the company’s movies during the past year.

The argument balmes insufficient and ineffective marketing to be the culprit in explaining why less people viewed the company’s movies during the past year. This argument is found to be flawed in various ways, among which three stand out the most.

First, none of the statements have been precisely quantified to help the readers gauge the severity of the problem. When we say fewer people went to the movies, do we mean two or two hunderd less people? And what was the number of movie goers the year before as a benchmark? The same argument goes for the positive movie reviews; how many positive reviews did the company receive the year before and what was the percentage increase thereafter? Are we talking about a 10% increase from 10 positive reviews or 100 positive reviews? Likewise, the argument goes onto concluding that more budget needs to be allocated for advertising next year. How much more is this budget is going to be in monetary sense? Is it sufficient and material enough to bring about a substantial change in the trend observed? The argument would have been more convincing if more granular data was provided in order to put the assertions made in some sensible perspective.

Second, the argument assumes that the positive reviews were genuine and does not provide any evidence as to where these positive reviews came from. Today, one can find many fake reviews on the internet, both positive and negative. Many companies actually pay reviewers to provide a satisfactory or unsatisfactory feedback on some product driven by specific motives and agenda. Therefore, the argument cannot simply make conclusions without verifying the authenticity of the reviews. The argument would have been more convincing had it provided some data regarding the profile and background of the movie reviewers.

Last but not least, the argument assumes inadequate marketing efforts to be the only driver for the decline in the turnout. While there well may be a correlation, the causal effect is under question unless satisfactory evidence is provided. One can count many other potential reasons why less people went to movies. For example, it is possible to assume that competitors outperformed Super Screen Production Company during the past year by producing bombastic movies while Super Screen Production Company continued to produce movies ignoring the effect of competition. Another possible reason is the state of economy; many of those movie goers might have lost their jobs during the year hence deciding to pare down on their entertainment budgets by not going to the theaters. One other reason could be a new trend in the movie production introduced during the past year driving people toward watching a different genre than what they used to. Therefore, there are many reasons one can think of in justifying why less people went to movies during the past year. The argument would have been strengthened had it provided an array of surveys and studies examining all such effects in understanding the root cause for the decline in the number of movie goers.

In summary, the argument was found to be fallacious in three primary accounts hence failing to provide convincing evidence in supporting its conclusion of allocating more budget to advertising for the upcoming year.