The statement claims cooperation rather than competition to be the more important trait to inculcate in young people in developing them for leadership positions.

The statement claims cooperation rather than competition to be the more important trait to inculcate in young people in developing them for leadership positions. The author tends to disagree with this statement for two major reasons as detailed in the sequel.

First and foremost, the statement is believed to be qutie shallow as it merely focuses on one aspect of leadership, which is the leader’s attitude in dealing with other people. While the question of competition or cooperation is relevant, it is not the only trait to hinge on when it comes to developing people for positions demanding leadership qualities. A leader is expected to have a wide spectrum of traits and skills, among which charisma and emotional intelligence is probably the most substaital. Even if a leader is cooperative, if her/she cannot use emotional appeal to influence the people around him/her, he/she would not be an effective leader. Likewise, if a leader is of a competitive nature, without the ability to buil raport, he/she is bound to fail in the long run.

In addition to the breadth of skills and traits a leader demands, a balance of each of these traits is required for an effective leader. This is because the leader will most likely come across various situations in which application of some traits and skills may or may not be applicable. For example, at times of war, a leader may need to exhibit more competition rather than cooperation in order to protect his/her territory. In other cases, such as a call for a coalition to combat global warming, cooperation may be more apt. Therefore, the leader needs to draw on these traits in each situation in a different fashion and even in different levels of intensity.

Having said that, the author acknoledges some cogency in the claim made above. Agreeable people tend to make more friends than those who are competitive and so this observation may lead many people to believe that leaders need to be affable in order to be effective. However, leadership is an intricate concpet requiring a variety of skills, qualifications, and personality traits and hence cannot be oversimplified as such.

In conclusion, the statement is found to be shallow as it hinges only on one aspect of leadership: cooperation vs. competition. While the author finds some cogency in the opposing worldview, it is ultimately deemed immaterial to cause a shift in the author’s position. Hence, the author disagrees with the claim made in the statement and provides a more-encompassing framework for developing future leaders.