The statement calls for an identical national curriculum for all students at least until they enter college when they can make their choices as to what they ought to study.

The statement calls for an identical national curriculum for all students at least until they enter college when they can make their choices as to what they ought to study. I tend to agree with the statement on two primary accounts as detailed in the sequel.

First and foremost, it can be argued that many benefits are realized with a standardized education system. Because no variety in textbooks, training, and educational material is allowed, less resources are relatively expended to accomodate to this variety. For instance, if student A is permitted to take courses X and Y while student B decideds to study courses W and Z, the school needs to accomodate to the different needs to the two students by employing two sets of perhaps distinct resources. Courses X and Y may call for a specialized body of knowledge not required by courses W and Z. Course Y may require a laboratory component while course Z may require weekly field trips. From these examples, one can see that the burdon on the school and in general the national education system and eventually the government will be relatively higher in the case of a customized system as opposed to a standardized curriculum.

In addition, a standardized curriculum tends to be a more meaningful and even more fair in measuring students' performance. This is because with an identical curriculum no one student gains an unfair advantage over the others because he or she has selectively chosen subject matters that align with his or her interests, which may eventually be correlated with his or her performance. It also makes it harder to rank students; continuing with our hypothetical example above, how can one measure whether student A is academically more apt than student B if they are to take two different set of courses with differing means of examination?

Having said that, I acknowledge some cogency in the opposing wordlview. As such, I can relate to those who may be negatively affected by a rigid system dictating what they ought and ought not to study. This framework typically disadvantages some people because they may not be interested in all subjects chosen as part of the curriculum. When people are not interested in some pursuit, they tend not to give their best efforts to it, therefore, their effectiveness and performance may suffer as a consequence.

In summary, although a standardized national curriculum may be argued to be associated with some caveats, it eventually results in a better education system for a nation. This is because standardization leads to more effective deployment of resources as well as a more meaninful measurement system. Hence, an identical national curriculum is reccommended at a national level at least until students enter college.