People who take decision on the basis of emotion and justify them with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Emotion is always the most intrinsic characterstics of every human being. It's said that emotions always comes from within your heart and wheras logic is the brainchild of human mind with the cognitive and aptitude abilities. The issue states here, people who justify their emotional decision with logic are poor decision makers. Though this is true to to a great extent, but it's not completely true. Sometimes decision which were taken with a jolt of emotions can find grat logic to back it in future.

Many a times, we are surrounded with so convoluted problems, that logic fails to guide us anywhere. When our brain gets filled with so much conundrums, our logic takes a backfoot. With a penchant to take a decision on the basis of logic, we end up moving nowhere. And at those times, emotions usually tutelate us to take a decission and move ahead with it. It's not always true that decision which we take on the basis of emotion will be abysmal. Sometimes they turn out to be really great.

Sometimes when we take a decision just based on emotion, we take it so because we can'y find a logic at that very moment. But that does not mean, that afterwards we won't find a logic which lies inline with our earlier decision. At that point, it can't be termed as a bad decision or the person can't be marked as a poor decision maker. For example, when the then Prime Minister of India, Mr. Atal Bihari Bajpayee, took a decision to perform the Nuclear test, he took it on the basis of emotion, he mentioned at an interview later. The emotion of not only a person per se, but on the basis of the emotion of the group of scientists behind it and on a whole the emotion of a complete nation. Later he also admitted that, though the decision was emotional one, but later he found out, how India was at much better condition to conduct the test. And as a result of this decisin, he was able to put India into the world map of nuclear countries and in turn marked himself as a bold and decisive PM of Independent India.

But there are instances, where some great leaders take decision on the base of emotions, but later when the ramifications are catastrophic, they just try to justify their decision with logic which completely defies their intentions, so as to save the appellation of the the organisations or country for themeselves. For example when in smartphone industry was picking up, and Android was gaining strength, Nokia was too adamant to move to Android rather sticked to their original Simbian OS citing that that Nokia is the leader of Mobile devices and noone can easily topple it. But the result was self explanatory. And the CEO of Nokia explained few years latter that, we did not move into the market owing to the pouplarity of Nokia devices at that time and some arcane numbers. So that really proved it as a really bad decision when the decision maker is justifying his emotional decision with some uncanny logics.

So to sum it up, its not always that decision which were taken on basis of emotions wont get a logic afterwards. So whether to term a emotional decision bad or not is completely subjective.