People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People’s behaviour is one of the most sought after topics in psychology and neuroscience disciplines. Human beings are capable of learning and adapting themselves to the environment. Therefore much of the traits of the behaviour of an individual are subject to the exposure to the type of surrounding. Therefore it can be asserted that people’s behaviour is mostly shaped by external forces. But there are certain parts of people’s behaviour that comes by their own making.

To begin with, a child’s behaviour is not shaped inside mother’s womb. They first learn to speak, walk and to show emotions to gain benefits from the surroundings. Up to a certain age, children’s behavior is mostly reflections of what they have learned from their environment i.e. their elders, parents, and friends. For instance, it is very common by some elders to teach offensive or foul language to small children. They reiterate the foul words without hesitation. At a certain age they understand where to use offensive language and where no to. This trait of the behaviour comes from within, not from outside.

It goes without saying that the people of the whole world do not speak one single language. There are thousands of different languages in existence in different parts of the world. Speaking style is one of the components of people’s behavior. Phonetics, tone & style of speaking are quite different in different parts of the world. For instance, the Russian language native speakers emphasize greatly on the sound of ‘r’, but the native speakers of Assamese language mostly ignore the sound of ‘r’. There are also differences of tones. So the accent of speaking, which is a part of human behaviour, is determined by the environment not by people’s own discretion.

Furthermore, it is not commonly observed in modern world that people choose professions other than what they have seen their parents & elderly persons since their childhood. For instance, a farmer’s son will have country side nature and accent due to the exposure to rustic environment. But it is his or her own consideration whether to opt for farming as a profession or not. We also can take example of Abraham Lincoln. He was a son of a cultivator. But he went on to become the president of United States of America. His behavior may have mostly shaped by the external forces, but certainly there used to be traits in his behaviour coming from within.

In sum, human beings are capable of learning from environment and adapting to the surrounding. Although much of the behaviour of an individual is shaped by the forces not of his or her own making, there are certainly components which are determined by their forces of his or her making. We can look at the world surrounding us and find relevant examples.