The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do

with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or

her inherent skills and abilities.

Political leaders need to be judged based on the challenges faced by them and not on their God-given skills or abilities. Any leader is expected to be prepared to face any kind of challenges that might come in their way. If someone has not faced many challenges in their own life they will not be prepared to face them as leader of a community. Challenges shape an individual's character and strengthens their will power. For example, people like Abraham Lincoln have faced many challenges which lead him to be a great leader. Even in the Mahatma Gandhi's case, it is said that he has decided to fight the discrimination of British only after facing the racism himself.

Some might argue that many people face challenges in this world and not all of them be considered great leaders. While it is true that difficulties are an omnipresent reality of human life, overcoming these difficulties is never a wasted effort. In every person's case, they definetly shape leadership qualities on some level or other. While some people become qualify to be a family head and some to lead a small community or village, in every case people most experienced with facing challenges are better suited to be leaders.

Skills are not the most important in a leader. This can be seen by in every society. Skillfull people like economists, mathematicians and othe technical staff are meant to work under the orders of a good leader chosen by people in a democratic society. Your qualifications do not get you far in politics in a democratic nation. People who are percieved to be great based on the challenges they have faced, like Nelson Mandela, are choosen to lead them irrespective of their skillset. While people with skillsets are expected to work on under these leaders.

We can hence conculde that, while abilities and skills are important in a society they are not a foremost priority in a leader. A leader with no skills can be a great leader of a skillful population.