Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too

often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and

acting because they enjoy feeling comfortable and fear the

unknown

Every society ought to strive for progress and avoid stagnation. Humans by nature fear and resist change. We tend to over-delude our-self with the safety of status quo while trying to resist any change to it. In my case , when there are holidays for long duration I tend to skip college when the classes finally start. It is also evident when we have to learn to new things but the fear of failure keeps us from trying altogether.

A stagnant society would not be a happy one. Evolution has shaped our mind and body to face new challenges. In the absence of these our mind grows dull and body becomes inactive. Depression in modern day is a good example. Basic needs like obtaining food, shelter and basic survival made trivial has led to a lack of enough challenges for our mind and body. Depression is merely a response to this vacuum of challenges. Even on a societal level this hold true, if a society does not have challenges and strive for progress it goes in to 'depression'.

Stagnation in a society eats away at its core values and leaves behind an emotionless, boring place. This can be seen at the individual level too. When we don't have new challenges to face we become emotionless and dead on the inside. People are meant have constant challenges in life to progress. In the same way, a society needs to face newer and newer challenges to progress.

Thus, every society needs to strive to reach newer heights, moving on from the past and present while not fearing future.