Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the

societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of

corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Corporations must promote their own profits above societal good and environmental well-being in running themselves. While people arguing that societal good and well-being is the most important for a corporation might sound altruistic, they inevitable come across as naive and ignorant of the workings of most corporations in real world.

There are two kinds corporations in real society. One is a profit based entrepreneurship and the other is a social entrepreneurship. Most social corporations work to solve societal and environmental problems at the expense of personal profit. While the regular corporations may or may not work for societal and environmental good at the cost of their profit they may even cause harm to the society and environment. As a result some people might argue that all corporations must work similar or close to how social corporations operate. Adopting this strategy might not be sustainable in either short-term nor long-term for all companies. Considering an example from my own life; where my relative's company which produces carry bags was fairly successful before it changes its priorities from profit to environmental well-being. It was trying to be more eco-friendly than sustainable for the company by stopping producing plastic bags instead producing jute bags. The result was retailers were not ready to buy these jute bags and the company suffered heavy losses leading to its shutdown.

Another point to address is the fact that some companies thrive by exploiting the loop holes in society which the same corporation also has a moral responsibility to correct. For example, a pharma corporation must promote its self-care among customers encouraging prevention of disease over cure. But when a pharma company does this, it inevitably in the long run falls into loss and becomes unsustainable. So arguing that all companies must promote societal good is being unfair to some corporations. It is acceptable to argue that all companies must try their best to be environmentally friendly and socially more responsible but to place these responsiblities above their own sustainable profits is being short-sighted.

In conclusion, companies can try to be as socially and environmentally responsible as possible but it would be foolish to suggest that all companies must adopt society and environment first and profit next approach.