The following appeared in the City Council Proceedings

section of the local newspaper in Smithville.

“The city council of Smithville has recommended making

changes to police procedures to improve the visibility of the

police force. These changes include hiring more police officers,

budgeting more funds for police overtime, and directing

officers to patrol significantly more often on foot rather than

from their patrol cars. These improvements in visibility would

significantly lower the crime rate in Smithville and make its

citizens feel safer.”

To state that increasing surveillance can lower crime rate in the state of Smithville might seem reasonable at a first glance. But the writer makes many unstated assumptions in making the conclusion. We might need several evidence related to visibility of police forece and crime rate to conclude accurately.

The author does not cite any evidence that correlates increase in number of personnel and crime rate. It is possible that even an increased number personnel can prove insufficient to reduce crime rate while having a negative effect on citizen's collective psyche. Criminals always find loop holes to commit crimes while the ordinary citizens might feel alarmed by the increase in number of police officers. If there is an evidence strongly corrrelating the number of police personnel and decrease in crime rate in a similar state then the conculsion may be deemed valid.

Coming to the second assumption: allocating funds to make officers work overtime. This may or may not prove effective. In fact, this may have negative effect in police officer's efficiency of surveillance and overall abiltiy to do their duty. This may lead on-duty casulaties on the officers' part when confronted with criminals. Coming to the third assumption; increasing on-foot surveillance. There was no data presented to show that more on-foot surveillance would decrease crime rate. It is possible that more on-foot surveillance might deter criminals to commit less crimes. But, it also can facilitate evasion of criminals after they commit crime if they have vehicles for evasion. So if there is strong data correlating on-foot surveillance and decrease crime rate, the author's conclusion may be deemed reasonable.

So decrease crime rate in the state of Smithville may or may not be connected to the factors related to police visiblity. It could be connected to more deep and fundamental factors which need to be addressed. Only then can both crime rate come down and citizens feel secure simultaneously. The concerned stakeholders in the state of Smithville must be skeptical of the conclsuion stated in the prompt in the absence of above stated evidence.