Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and

resist unjust laws.

It is might be reasonable to state that individuals must obey all the laws which are justified while disobeying any laws that might seem unjustifiable and irrational. Many reasons can be cited in support of such a statement. In the history of mankind, time and time again unjust and unfair laws which are suited only to ruling enities' selfish interests have been imposed by rulers which ultimately control and restrict their subjects.

Firstly, basic purpose of any law is to maintain societal structure and hold individual's or organizations' actions accountable to the society which are part of. But when ruling entites cite such reasons as security and order to impose rules which clearly violate basic human rights such as individual freedom of expression, then it is the duty of the subjects to resist such a rule. One basic example to cite in this regard would be the british colonial rule in its colonies. In India, the british have frequently and unrestrictedly imposed laws which curb basic freedom of indians in favor of the Imperial Crown's interests. Like the great indian freedom fighter Mahatma Gandhi said, when the government starts behaving like a dictatorship it is the duty of the common folk to resist and disobey such a government in a non-violent manner. Many eminent personalities' quotes under similar circumstances can be cited in support of this argument.

It is undeniable that citizens are bound by the laws of government when the laws are justified and it becomes a basic responsibility of citizens to obey such laws. If a law such as 'killing is a punishable offence' is deemed unfair by some people due to their perverted sense of the morality and they start disobeying the government as a result, it can only lead lawlessness and disorder in that society. The statement made in the prompt is too general to agree completely with. It is true that many governments impose laws that may not seem reasonable to all its citizens but are nevertheless important in upholding basic societal structure. In such cases, it is important for the government to listen to the feedback of its citizens with regards to any law and make changes or amendments accordingly. Therefore, democratic form of governments seem the most desired form of governments in any society. In countries like china, basic human rights are curbed in favor of overall development of the country. While everyone agrees that dictatorship such as North Korea cannot be an acceptable government which neither contributes to freedom not development of its citizens.

In conclusion, while whether citizens must obey all the laws of its government remains a topic of philosophical debate, citizens must obey its ruler until the laws imposed seem justified in the larger context and not seem suited to only the ruling entity.