A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Crime, more often than not originates from a dark place. The intentions of any criminal are usually deliberate and their actions are extremely denuncialble. Keeping this in mind, any criminal should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from their labour.

The more heinous crimes are usually organized crimes, planned well in advance and performed deliberately by artful men to satisfy their greed for money or power. Human trafficking, child slavery, planned assasinations are few examples of such crimes. These crimes do not bud from the needs of the criminal but their greed and treacherous intent. Thus it is important to punish these criminals to set an example to dissuade others who might have similar plans or ideas. Also, denying these criminals their rights will give the innocent assurance that the criminals are being treated like they should be and if someone is to do something against them, they will surely be punished harshly and denounced from public favour.

Most criminal activities, if not all involve illegal infringement of the civil rights of their victims, which furthers the view point that such men should not be granted their civil rights. People who do not respect the rights of others have no right to exercise those rights themselves. Criminals avoid working hard for their share of money and respect and try to swindle and cheat others, thus denying them the benefit of their own labor can certainly viewed as just. The social contract or humanity as we might call it doesn't consist of rules written on a paper, thus people who take unfair advantage of the generosity of the innocent must be punished in a fitting manner.

The only exception can be made to this punishment when it is evident that the criminal has acted due to extreme circumstances and not because of his/her malice or greed. The crimes that are committed out of need must be punished according to the law but taking away their civil rights would be very harsh punishment. This is because such criminal, indirectly, are the product of our society and its ways. The poverty that they face and their desperate circumstances force them to commit crimes and thus their civil rights must be kept intact.

Except a few cases where a criminal acts out of need and deperacy, the criminal are a malignant breed and must be punished harshly. Thus if a person commits a crime knowingly, he should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.