A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The issue that the person should not retain any civil rights, who knowingly commits a crime is a contentious one. Though both sides have their strengths and weaknesses, I believe that he should be given punishment for his bad deeds but he should not be deprived of the benefit from his own labor or any other civil rights.

Whenever a person commits crime knowingly he is either going through some mental trauma or he has some psychological problem. There might be many reasons behind his act. If the person was not taught the difference between a criminal act and a normal work, maybe because he had no parents or was not educated enough, leads to him performing such precarious and deleterious deeds.

Let's take an example of person who has done robbery in a bank. He was in full senses when he did this theft. Thus he was aware of his act. So in this case, if the robber was caught and handed to the police and if a case was filed against him, it is the responsibility of the judiciary to find out the real reason of him committing this malevolent act. If he had been taught robbery only from his childhood, we cannot blame him for his act and occlude him from all his civil rights. Instead a punishment which makes him realize his mistake and which makes him a better person should be given.

If we restrain the criminal from his civil rights and do not benefit him from his own labor then What is the difference between him and us? I agree that he has broken the social contract but there could be other way in which we can punish him. If we deprive him of his rights, then he will lose all reasons for staying alive, which would worsen his condition even further.Instead, if we consider the above example, the person must have robbed the bank because he must be not having enough money for his survival or he must be not getting job, so in this case if he gets a job and he is also getting money for his hard work, then the thought of robbery would not come in his mind.

But there is also another side to this, some crimes like molestation, rape, eve teasing are so malicious that the only punishment to such people should be life imprisonment or even hang until death. They should not be given any right whatsoever. If such people are set free then common man will lose credence from our judiciary system. Also looking at the extent of punishment for such crimes, people would be scared with even the thought of committing it.

In conclusion, depending on the type of crime the person should be allowed to retain his civil rights or no. For such reasons, I believe that all people who commit crime should not be deprived of their rights and benefits of their own labor but the ones whose crime has no other punishment except life imprisonment should not be allowed their rights.