The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of a Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increases during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

In this memo, the author has concluded that Super Screen allocate a greater share of it's budget for reaching to public through advertising. To justify this conclusion, the author notes that fewer people have attended Super Screen-produced movies. As further support, the author also points out that the contents of these revies are not reaching enough of the viewers. Finally the author cites that the reason behind all this is public's lack of awareness. However careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's conclusion.

First of all, I would like to point out that the authors states that according to the reports of their marketing department fewer people have attended Super Screen- produced movies. But the author fails to provide adequate figures to support the conclusion. On what basis did they conclude fewer people have attended? What were the previous year's figures? How many people have they surveyed? What were the survey results? Without answering all these questions, we cannot reach a proper conclusion.

Furthermore, the author has stated that the contents of the positive reviews are not reaching the viewers. He reached this conclusion based on the assumption that the percentage of reviews about Super Screen movies has increased even though fewer people attended. But the author has not given any numbers as to What were the previous year's reviews number? and What were this year's numbers? Also, What could be the other reason except content not reaching people?What was the percentage increase? It can be that the number of people surveyed before was more and if the number of positive reviews are same both years then we cannot say the number of positive reviews has increased. Thus proper analysis of the reason must be shown.

To add to this, the author also states that there is lack of awareness among people that movies of good quality are available. It might be that people are aware about it, but they don't find the Super Screen movies to be of good quality. Also, if they like other production house's movies which are of better quality than Super Screen produced movies then people might not go for this house's movies. Thus by even increasing the budget it might not be of any use.

In conclusion, the author's conclusion that Super Screen should allocate greater share of budget for advertising is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, the memo's author must provide more concrete evidence by providing the answers of the above questions. The author ahould also demonstrate the survey results to get more clarity of the issue. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, we would need more information about reasons of people not attending Super Screen-produced movies.