The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

"If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste."

The argument in the letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown is about encouraging the residents of the Masontown to recycle. The reason, the author gives is that it will save money. Also since the neighboring Hayesworthtown had done the same thing and benefited form it, it will also lead to success in their town. The argument at first looks convincing, but when we study in depth we encounter a lot of fallacies.

The first loophole of the argument is that the author gives the recommendation of recycling inorder to save money on garbage disposal fees. On what basis he concluded that on recycling their town people will save money on garbage disposal fees?What methods of recycling are they going to employ? Also which materials are they going to recycle? The author has failed to give details on the recycling materials and process as the cost behind recycling might differ for different materials. If recycling of some material is difficult, then it might lead to more cost in the process.

The second loophole is that the author assumes that since the neighboring town, Hayesowrth, passed a law on recycling and have seen garbage disposal costs decrease significantly , the same benefits Masontown people will have if they passed the same law. The author fails to notice here that just because the law is passed doesn't mean it lead to decrease in garbage disposal cost. What are the real reasons for the decrease in garbage costs. Since both towns are different , the outcome of one town may not be necessarily be same for the other. Were the garbage costs same in both town initially? What amount of garbage was disposed everyday in Hayesworth town?

Furthermore if Hayesworth town had more garbage of paper and glass and they recycled it which might have lead to decrease in cost of garbage disposal. What type of garbage is more in Masontown? If Masontown does recycling of paper and glass but the garbage is more of other materials, there would be no impact of recycling on garbage disposal cost. Thus the author should find out more details on the materials to be recycled in Masontown and then reach a conclusion.

The author states that if they organised an advertising campaign then it will encourage the residents to recycle. What if after the campaign the residents are not convinced enough for recycling? Does all recycling methods lead to decrease in garbage disposal costs? The author should conduct a survey in the town to find out if all the residents are agreeing on this method of recycling.

The argument can be strengthened if the author answers the above questions. If the author does an in-depth analysis on this topic and find out more information regarding the recycling process and the type of materials to be recycled and also the main reasons for the decrease in the cost of garbage disposal of Hayesworth town so tha the can convince the Masontown people to adapt recycling method. As it stands however, the argument is flawed.