Sports stars and movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility

The issue here of whether sports star and movie star should fulfill the societal responsibility as they behave as role models for the younger generation is a contentious one. Though both sides have their strengths and weaknesses, I believe that sports stars and movie star should have a sense of obligation and should feel responsible for their actions.

The lifestyle of a famous movie star and sports star is very luxurious. They are paid millions of dollars for their work and are also pampered, as profusion of amenities are made available to them. The moment they get famous, the fame gets on their head and they start feeling above all. The plethora of young demotics look up to them and try to emulate their look, behaviour, lifestyle etc. But this is misleading as they are just wasting their time which they could have devoted to making their own career.

Furthermore lets consider this example, if a movie is superhit, even if the actor in it had done the role of a drunkard or had smoked cigerattes, the younger generation feels they should also do as their idol or role model has done that in the movie. They are so influenced by the demeanor of the movie stars that they are not able to distinguish between good and bad. They ignore the fact that the actor was doing acting in the film but in real life he might not be drinking or smoking. Thus the type of role movie stars play have a great impact on today's youth.

To add to it, if a sportsperson, say for example a cricketer has scored two consecutive centuries and also made the team win and became the man of the match, he becomes the youth icon. All young people who follow cricket to the T, start feeling that his batting style is the best style and they start to facsimile him. Also the sports stars who after wining the match, have celebrations and if some undecorous images of the cricketer are leaked in public, it leads to bad impact on the young people.

Having said all this, we can thus tell that whether it is a movie star or a sports star. once they become famous, they should be very careful of how they behave in the society, as it will have direct consequences on the people who idolate them. There are times when an actor has committed suicide and the news spreads nationwide, people who idolise the actor feel so disheartened that they also try to suicide. Such deleterious impact the actions of superstars can have on the population.

In conclusion, I would agree with the author that sports star and movie star should be officious to the society and before taking any major steps should also give it a thought of the results and the impact on the people who consider them as their role models.For these reasons, they should fulfill this societal responsibility.