The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview.

"In order to alleviate the serious unemplyment problem in our town, we should encourage. Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.

The argument in which the Mayor of the city of Hillview concludes that they should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in their area. The reason is to alleviate the serious unemplyment in their town. Also it will put to work thousands of Hillview residents who were left unemplyed after Computech company abandoned them. The mayor has asked the council to authorize campaign to attract the company and tax incentives to autotech.The argument, at first looks convincing, but when we study deeply, we encounter a lot of loopholes.

The first and the most significant loophole of the argument is that How can Hillview residents, who used to work for a computer software programming company, now work for an automobile manufacturing company? These people, who are coders, will have no knowledge of the automobiles and On what basis has the Mayor concluded that the jobs will be given to them? The residents would not be able to work in this field, as they have no experience in it. Also the Mayor wants them to be employed in building and staffing work, which is way different from the work, they do in the computer software company.

The second loophole is that the Mayor suggests that the perfect site for the automobile manufacturing plant is a landfill which is undeveloped for decades. How can they develop a manufacturing plant on a landfill? Also a landfill which is undeveloped would'nt be a safe palce for the workers. Why was the landfill undeveloped for decades? There must be some reason like the building work would not have support or the previous attempts of raising a building there may have failed. Thus an automobile manufacturing plant cannot be developed at such a site due it it's inconsistencies.

Furthermore, the Mayor tells that he will be asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and also offer significant tax incentives to make their town attractive to this car manufacturing company. What is the proof that the company will agree to develop a plant in their town? What if tax incentives are not enough to attract the company to their town? If the company is getting better offer at some other town, it might switch to that town instead. Thus the Mayor should do more research on other towns, who are also competing for this company.

The argument can be strengthened by answering the above questions. Also the Mayor should take a poll in their town, to ask the residents if they are willing to work for such company. To add to this, the Mayor should try and search for a computer softer programming company, as it will attract majority of the residents. If these points can be kept in mind then the argument can be made convincing. As it stands, however the argument is flawed.