The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

"The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land ill be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population

The argument that Smith Corporation should not be given permission to develop land for building a small hotel is flawed. The author of environment protection group in his petition to the residents of Youngtown mentions that santuary is essential for the survival of 300 bird species. He further goes to tell that the Corporation people have assured the preservation but still it will have disastrous consequences and this sale will not benefit their community. The argument at first seeems convincing but when we study deeply, we discover a lot of loopholes in it.

The first loophole is that the author mentions that the sanctuary is essential for the survival of 300 birds in that area. The author assumes that the whole sanctuary is being occupied by those 300 birds. The author has not given any evidence of the total land area of the sanctuary and How much of it is being used by the birds? There might be some space which is free and unoccupied and thus wasted. In that case the Corporation could use it for construction of hotel.

The second loophole is that the author assumes that the proposed development will have disastrous consequences on their area. The author has nowhere mentioned as to How will it affect their area? What if the sanctuary is at a distance from the residents of Youngtown ? In that case, the construction work would not have any serious consequences on the area. Furthermore only a small part of the sanctuary is being alloted, which means the construction would be done in less time, and the people of Corporation might take safety measures to see to it that the construction does not endanger any bird species. So there would be no harm caused to either the birds or the residents.

The third loophole is that the author assumes that the sale will not benefit their community as it relies on tourists who visit the sanctuary. But the author fails to understand that if the hotel is near the sanctuary then all the tourists might want to visit the bird sanctuary. In that case, it will only lead to more monetary benefits to the community. As more tourists are attracted the bird sanctuary would also become famous as a tourist spot of Yountown. This would lead to not only tourists visiting the sanctuary but also local population.

The argument would be strengthened if the author had provided more details about the area the sanctuary covers and the proportion of the area utilised by the bird sanctuary. Also the author should give evidence of deterious consequences which could occur due to the construction of the hotel. As it stands however the argument is flawed.