Sports stars and movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The idea that a public person has to refrain certain behaviors and act as a role model at all times represents a potentially contentious topic. Sports stars and movie stars are, inherently, humans, and it is wrong of society to expect them to rise to a standard that is not expected of other people. Both athletes and actors are just regular people doing their job. Therefore, I believe the assumption that they owe our society to be permanently mindful of their actions' impact on young people to be fundamentally flawed.

Firstly, the amount of money they make is disjoint to their societal responsibility. As any other citizen, sports and movie stars have both rights and obligations, but it is unfair to expect more from them because of their salary. For example, even though a band can make millions of dollars, people do not expect them to behave immaculately or to refrain from certain behaviours for the benefit of their audience. Furthermore, athletes and actors are not payed for being role models; they get payed according to contracts for doing their job: playing in a game, acting in a commercial, etc. It follows that society should not expect them to do anything extra due to their income.

Secondly, while young people are easily manipulated and influenced by what they see in the media, it is not a public person's job to teach them about what is right or wrong. The job of raising children is limited to their parents, who should control what they are able to watch and immitate. If a parent is bothered by an athelete's behavior, he or she should prevent the child from having access to sources which cite said behavior.

It can be argued that while parents can try to supervise what a teenager follows, young people know how to get access to the information they want, and cannot be controlled at all times. However, a good education starts early in the life of a child, and he or she should be taught to distinguish between bad and good. Children should learn not to immitate any action they witness without thinking about the consequences. For example, if a young adult knows that smoking has a deleterious effects, he or she will be less likely to smoke when seeing a movie star who does.

People who put themselves in the position of having a public life, such as sports stars or movie stars, do so out of passion for their craft. As any other jobs, theirs has ups and downs, and they are allowed, as humans, to make mistakes once in a while. Thus, thinking of them as exceptions who owe society because of the ammounts of money they make is unequitable. Instead of debating whether stars should live their life freely or not, we could elicit a much bigger issue: raising our children to be autonomous and capable of smart decisions, no matter the actions of the people around them.