The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The optimal way of raising young people is a controversial issue, but there is no doubt that it has a significant impact on the future of society. While the ideal environment for children's development might not be obvious at first glance, it is clear that we need to raise our young people with the values of a society in mind in order for them to become the successful leaders of tomorrow. Therefore, I believe that cooperative education should substitute the competitive kind.

Firstly, by instilling a sense of cooperation in young people, the society teaches them about working within a team, which is undoubtfully a valuable skill for any future leadership position. A leader needs to know how to delegate, how to manage a team of people, and how to consider their individual skills and characteristics. These skills are not inherent, but taught, which is why cooperating with peers from a young age can yield successful adults in their respective industry.

Secondly, a person in a powerful position should be able to relate to the issues of the people they are responsible for. For example, a government official must know what the people need and want in order to lead them successfully. Without a sense of collaboration and team spirit, this cannot be achieved.

Some may argue that, by raising our young people in a competitive way, we teach them valuable skills such as working independently and striving for the best in every way possible. However, a society filled with people who are only capable of working on their own is not a society in its true form. Our world would be chaotic if all of us would try to succeed and to make others worse off in the process, and our children should not be raised in this spirit.

In conclusion, those who argue that competition is more valuable than cooperation in young people's education are shortsighted. In order to build a society based on mutual respect, and prosperity, we need leaders who know how to cooperate and work together for the greater good. Thus, we shall raise the young people of today in a spirit of cooperation, rather than competition.