The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument is that West Lansburg council should not allow road to be built in order to preserve biodiversity and for healthy environment. The author writes a letter to the editor of West Lansburg News stating that since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary, development was prohibited. Also Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, had seen its sea otter population decline because of the repeal of its sanctuary status. The argument at first looks convincing, but careful scrutiny reveals a lot of loopholes.

The first loophole is that the author mentions ancient records in the letter. But the author has not given any information of How old were the records? or What was the accurate number of tufted groundhog at that time? For comparison of two situations adequate proof should be there. If the records are of 20-30 years they cannot be compared to the present situation as between those years a lot of changes may have taken place. Thus author should give more detailed description of the records.

The second loophole is the author tells that since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited, but the author has not mentioned the reason behind this occlusion of development. There could be other reasons like no permission of government or no funds for the construction work. If the author would provide accurate reason, then the argument would make sense.

The third loophole is that the author compares this situation with neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, by stating that it had seen it's sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. But the comparison cannot be made as both can have different situation. The author fails to take into consideration the weather condition, or the government ruling there. Also the population of sea otter declining and tufted groundhog declining is debatable as they are two different animals.

To add to this, the author fails to mention the exact decline and the reason for this reduction in the sea otter population. Also the author is comparing the situation which took place in 1978 with the present situation. There is a long gap between the two years so this is not a valid reason for not allowing road construction.

The argument would be strengthened if the author gives more details on the records plus a more specific reason of the decline in population of groundhog. Also if he is making a comparison he should first state the similarities between the two regions. As it stands however, the argument is flawed.