The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that in order to preserve the biodiversity of the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg and to ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built. The argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus not make a strong claim.

To begin with, the author assumes that the biodiversity of West Lansburg and the Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria are similar. West Lansburg is a coastal wetland while there is no information given on the Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria. If the Carpenteria is a desert or a forest then no comparison can be made with the West Lansburg. As the region changes, the methods of preservation of its species also changes. The author also brings in similarity between otter and tufted groundhog. They are structurally different species and hence such a comparison is not valid and convincing. Otters and groundhog live in completely different regions and hence require different methods for its preservation.

Additionally, the author compares the effect of repealing a sanctuary in 1978 to today. Over the years, many factors have contributed to the decline of species. It is also unclear, as to how the otter population declined since 1978. The author assumes that the otter population declined only due to the removal of the sanctuary status. There may have been many other factors which could have caused a decline in otter population. Many otters may have been infected with a contagious disease which caused their premature deaths. There may have been significant changes in climate and the region's biodiversity which might have caused the decline.

Moreover, the author claims that the number of tufted groundhog was once numbered in millions. The author derives this information from ancient records. Are the ancient records reliable? The author also does not mention anything about the decline of the population of groundhog. The author does not specify any number to highlight the decline. The decline is significant if the population has dropped from 1 million to 100 thousand but is insignificant if the population has dropped from 1 million to 999 thousand.

The author also claims that the West Lansburg was declared a wildlife sanctuary since 2004. It is, however, unclear as to whether the sanctuary status has helped improve the population of the groundhog. There are no statistics to show the increase in the groundhog's population. Even if there is an increase there might have been many other factors which could have caused the increase. There might have been ideal climatic conditions for breeding of groundhog since 2004 which might have burgeoned the population.

Although the author claims that the preservation of a region's biodiversity is essential for the conservation of tufted groundhog, the argument does not make a cogent case. While the argument highlights a possibility, more information is required to warrant any action.