The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author recommends that Monarch Books open a cafe in its store given that it has a large customer base. The argument has certain flaws in its reasoning.

To begin with, the author assumes that opening a cafeteria will attract more customers. Monarch Books have been popular for their wide selection of books. Customers are attracted to Monarch for their quality of books and not because they have a cafe in their store. Feedbacks can be taken from customers on whether having a cafeteria will improve the services of Monarch. The owners of the store must also study the availability of cafeteria in its vicinity.

The author also assumes that the children's book section can be removed as the national census indicated that there was a significant decline in the percentage of population under the age of 10. The major flaw here is that the author assumes that the percentage is a good measure of statistics to represent the population under the age of 10. There could have been population increases and the number of people below the age of 10 could have actually not declined. Moreover the author assumes that children novels are restricted to the people under the age of 10. Actual numbers of children under the age of 10 could be considered as a reliable measure than the percentages.

Additionally, the author also compares the success of Regal Books to Monarch Books. There could have been various other factors determining the success of Regal Books. Monarch Books differ from Regal Books in locality, type of customers, availability of a cafeteria in its vicinity etc. The author must include these details before a comparison can be made.

In short, the argument is unconvincing and a decision to open a cafe in Monarch Books cannot be made unless the author intends to add more details to support his argument.