Argument Topic: The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News: "The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they w

The author of the letter submitted to the West Lansburg News asserts that the West Lansburg council should not allow the riad to be built in along the edge of wetlands by the local development interests. Despite the assumptions made by the author are unfounded by certain levels, the argument made by the author that preserving the region's biodiversity is impossible if the natural regions are imputed seems to be viable. But, if more substantiations were done for his assumptions, then the persuasiveness of the conclusion would have been increased dramatically.

First and foremost, the author mentions about the ancient population of the groundhogs in the West Lansburg which is about a million. But, he fails to mentions what made their populations decrease so that the sanctuary was made to be built at that place. Despite the human aspects that leads to the endangering of the species, the natural aspects may too play a certain levels of roles in the decrease in numbers. Moreover, the groundhogs are being rared in the sanctuary. Why the road that is being built by locals affects them? If these aspects are included by the author to substantiate further more, then he could have come to the second conclusion.

Moreover, the endangering of other species by man's activities are being increasing in this contemporary world. For example, the number of sparrows are too being exponentially decreased by the telephonic waves being used by man. Similarly, if the man intrudes the natural life for his own needs then the ecological disturbance certainly takes place as a consequence of the decrease in the natural species. The author takes an example if the Eastern Carpenteria, where the sea otters' population is being decreased after the road was being built across their sanctuary. But the this makes a conjectural statement unless the author defines what are all the factors that caused that decrease. You can't simply blame the building roads are only ways that affects the population. Moreover, there is vast technological developments from 1978 to 2004, that makes sure no such intruding into animals' space takes place. Hence, such factors have to be re thought by the author.

Even though the author mentions that the local development interests are trying to persuade the West Lansburg council to permit to build the roads, the evaluation of their points has to be done. There is an absence of point by the author who fails to mentions why the road has to be built and how it's presence affect the 'health' of environment. Only the most viable reason can only be used to rethink if the road must be built or not else this assertion must be thought again.

In a nutshell, despite the author's definitive tone in the letter who expects the council not to allow the roads to be built across the sanctuary, he might hold water because of certain unfounded assumptions are being made by him. Using the given substantiations, even though the author might stay or come to the second conclusion, his assertion will have greater persuasiveness with more substantiations and explanations.