The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions- Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to-be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria: which had a similar sanctuary: has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1948. In order to preserve the regions biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built "

The letter was written by the editor of West Lansburg news which states that with the construction of a road in coastal Westland of West Lansburg the population of tufted groundhog would decline, comparing it with the effects seen in neighboring Eastern Carpenteria.

One of the main reason for opposing the construction of access road is that the population of sea otter reduced in Eastern Carpentria. But in this situation nowhere it can be said that removal of sanctuary status is the main reason as there is no proof or data provided or no investigation or research is done by an agency or a group stating editors claim.

Even West Lansburg council can allow construction of the road without having any change in sanctuary status of the area. The road will improve the transportation in the are and as sanctuary staus still would be their minimum damage would occur to the environment.

Comparing something with the situation in 1978 is not rational as today's surveillance system are much more advanced and with good animal tracking technology preservation of wildlife could be improved even further.

So according to me, there are many problems in the proposal of the editor comparing head to head two different regions in the different era is like comparing apples and oranges. So council should think about all possibilities and conditions before giving orders regarding the issue.