An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor's record of treating similar afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether doctor is competent to treat that medical condition

The issue of whether the ailing patient should have access to his or her doctor's record is a contentious one. Though both sides have their strengths and weaknesses, I believe even by seeing the doctor's past record the patient cannot determine whether doctor will be successful in treating the medical condition.

Firstly, even if the patient has seen all the doctors records but still the treatment was not succesful, maybe because the doctor may have prescribed proper medicine but the nurse may have made a mistake and may have given the wrong medicine. A doctor is also a human being, he can make mistakes, if during operation the doctor's concentration dwindled and he made some erroneous mistake which led to the failure of the operation, in such situation access to past records would'nt help in determining doctor's capabilities.

Secondly, every patient might have a different medical condition. For example, If a patient is suffering from diabetes and he even has asthama problem and the patient sees the doctor's records of curing similar patients who had diabetes but those patients didnt have asthama problem, would be of no use. The reason being the patient's medical condition is different from the patients whom he is reviewing as he even has asthama so the doctor might have a different treatment for him or her.

To add to this, if we consider a situation that the doctor was practising in a hospital say "A",but recently he has shifted to another hospital say "B". His records are all good in hospital "A". Maybe because the facilities are good in the hospital, also the staff who is assisting the doctor is good.

But without having information of hospital "B", How would the patient determine whether the doctor would be able to treat his medical condition successfully in hospital "B"? So these factors are also important while determing whether the doctor is competent enough.

Nevertheless, seeing the doctor's records might give some hope to the patient that his medical condition can be cured. The human have the tendency that they believe hat others say easily, so if they get good reviews about a particular doctor they feel the doctor is capable of treating their medical condition as well.

In conclusion, the patient should not entirely depend upon the doctor's records of treating similar patients but should also see other factors like his or her own medical conditon, hospital amenities and staff etc. For these reasons the patient even though having access to the doctor's records, cannot determine doctor's competency merely through the records.