A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract

and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Nowadays, we are living in a word full of violence, disputation, and quarrel. No single day passes without seeing, reading or hearing about such misdemeanors and wrongdoings. And the most dominant commentary hitherto is whether to deny those committing crimes from their civil rights and even their own sustenance. As far as I’m concerned I believe to some extent with the author’s assumption that any culprit should get punished for doing a guilt but, that retribution to be commensurate with his wrong act. In the following paragraphs, I will delineate my point of view with clear examples to support my point.

First is first, the penalty should be proportionate with the type of crime. We can not say that a felony crime like terrorism and murdering innocents, forcible rape or kidnapping equal to shoplifting crime or speeding ticket. It’s not at all reasonable to give life imprisonment to a poor person forced to steal a retail to avoid dying from starvation. And it is worth mentioning that the Italian court has ruled that stealing food is not a crime if you are homeless and hungry. In such cases, even the crime is committed knowingly, the intentions are not to harm the society; therefore, they shouldn’t be retained from their basic rights.

Another case to consider is the traffic ticket notice. The majority of drivers have been given a ticket notice once in their lives. Albeit, It’s an obvious breach of the country’s laws, but not justifiable to retain their civil rights and put them in jail. Now, it’s crystal clear that the type and severity of punishment differ according to the situation.

On the other hand, those who commit felony crimes intentionally and without any good motives should be punished strictly and to be deprived of their rights to be a warning sign for anyone thinking to do the same. Although, I read an article yesterday stating that capital punishment and deprivation from basic rights, for example, have not effect on crime deterrence and another survey on American prisoners telling that such severe sanctions didn’t prevent them from committing crimes or pursuing a career in crime but, that study, in my opinion, can not be generalized. There are hundreds of cases of individuals for instance, who were willing to kill, kidnap, rape or rob and the strict policy that will be applied for doing such shameful acts hindered them from proceeding. And that doesn’t mean if they actually did the unlawful act their rights and benefits should be confiscated regardless of their different scenarios. This is because over strictness can worsen the situation and might create a monster out of that criminal; thereby could be very dangerous for the society.

Finally, and as I’ve mentioned earlier, that some crimes like terrorism and the bad people of ISIS “Daesh” for instance, should be deprived of all their basic rights and societal benefits because such brutal people are a real threat to the whole world not only their societies. They kill innocent kids, women and elderly people without mercy and with no real reason. Only in such cases, we have to apply these strict rules of retaining their civil rights or the right to benefit from their own labor because there is no hope those barbaric groups will turn to be good.

To sum up, it does matter if the crime is done intentionally or not and the motives for committing the crimes should be taken into consideration as well. Dealing with all situations equally is not justifiable. The above examples of different types of crimes and the stimulus for doing so bear this out.