The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take.
In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations
shape your position.
Technology has greatly influenced our lives and more so, in the past few decades. Technological advancements made contributed to high standards of living
and convenience in our daily life. Technological advancements no doubt help us perform tedious and onerous jobs much faster and thus, leads to free time.
However, I beg to differ with the claim that the sole aim of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they can enjoy more
leisure time.
Numerous technological advancements have made tedious tasks easier and faster than it was before.Washing machines,microwaves and mixers have made our daily lives
convenient.One no longer needs to spend hours toiling in the kitchen or washing clothes.Thus, a person can effectively save time due to these techical equipments
and have adequate time to focus on other works. Previously,accountants and bank employees had to manually calculate all the transactions which was an onerous task.
With the advent of computers and calculators, these tasks can be performed much easily within a short time and thus,these employees can focus on more important things
like designing proper policies for customers or even process more data contributing to the overall productivity at work. Thus, technology has made it possible to
save time but these time saved may not necessarily be categorized as "leisure" time. That saved time can be used to solve more pressing problems or focus on
other areas that could lead to some other innovation. For example, in corporate sectors or advertizing agencies, much of the time is dedicated to product enhancement
or designing innovative techniques to promote products i.e emphasizing and propagating creativity for further improvement. Technological advancements thus by
enabling convenience does not promise leisure time and hence,the primary goal of technological advancement by promoting convenience is not just promoting leisure time
Technological advancements can be a result of many things. It could be out of desire and persistence to solve an ongoing problem, it could be driven by the
necessity to protect environment or be the culmination on unbounded curiousity to discover something. When telescope was first discovered, neither people's efficiency
nor focus on how it could contribute to leisure time of people were the primary goals.It was a result of sheer curiosity to discover the unknown space and persistence
of achieving it that were the primary goals. Harnessing solar energy or hydroelectic energy were results of the need to find renewable sources of energy that
does not deplete natural resources or lead to pollution. Thus,in this case,the primary goal of technological advancement is the ongoing problem of excessive environmental pollution.
Similarly, when television was discovered, it was not invented to increase people's efficiency or let them have more leisure time.Rather it was designed with the goal
of providing visual entertainment to people to effectively enjoy their leisure time. As we can see, technological inventions can be the outcome of multiple factors or reasons and not
necessarily restricted to limiting its scope to improving efficiency of people.
Many technological inventions do not focus on increasing individual efficiency but on the improvement of the overall quality of life. Air conditioners, water purifiers have not
increased our efficiency but these advancements in technology let us enjoy high standards of life by providing cool air or pure water and thereby contributing to improved health.
Technological advancements in medical field target to invent equipments so that deadly diseases and underlying medical conditions can be effectively diagnosed and subsequently treated properly.
For example, with the help of electrocardiogram, doctors can now effectively detect cardiovascular problems much earlier and take necessary steps to prevent cardiac arrests.
X rays have enabled us to detect fracturesin bones that helps in treating bone problems.
Smartphoned have become ubiquitous in this era.When it was designed, the target was perhaps to be able to have a phone that could be multifunctional with camera, internet propagating easy
access to information readily. It was not designed to let people have more leisure time.Infact, due to smartphones, peole nowadays hardly have any leisure time.They are always
intrigued by the technology. Mobile phones were perhaps designed with the intent to communicate information readily.
As we can see, technology in one way or the other has directly or indirectly shaped our lives. However, it is very vast in scope and thus, we cannot categorize its primary goals
let alone claim that the primary goal is to increase people's efficiency to have leisure time. It is usually targetted at making exemplary innovative contributions
that propagates science or improves the overall lifestyle of people by increasing convenience.