Prompt The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you

Leadership involves guiding people through the right direction and not letting them astray from their primordial motivation. The prompt suggests that the right qualities of leader prefer cooperation over competition. I mostly agree with the prompt, however I do concede that competition can create better leaders in some aspects.

Firstly, a cooperative leader has better way of 'dealing' with situations. A composite leader is likely to treat every situation equally. This means that if the leader is willing to comply with other countries, or companies it will have a better chance of surviving. Consider an instance of India's former prime minister Manmohan Singh, a compliant leader, under who the tensions of borders with different countries including china, pakistan and bangladesh had significantly reduced. This is because of the sole reason of his cooperation and agreement for truce. While, cooperation might not have been a popular public opinion at the time, it did help to save many lives of soldiers. This is a typical reason why cooperative leaders have better 'control of the situation' while one's may have who prefer competing.

Secondly, the 'vision' of the organization or country is well on the right path if the leader is indifferent to competition. Competiton often leads to refraction from the path to which organization would have headed. This is because competion pushes the company to take actions that are an affectation for the company. This might include some malignant things. Take the case of OnePlus, the smart phone brand, had started as a phone for the community. Soon, after not able to provide enough profits from only the limited amount of phones it was producing, it started deviating from its path. They started launching phones every month, unlike they did every six months. Their predilection towards quantity over quality became apparent. This led to major backlash towards the company, and honest followers leaving for other products. This shows how competition's influence led to the decadation of the vision.

Although there are instances where companies competition can make leaders push to create a better product (or policies in case of government). This has often been observed in different situations. Quality of the product (or incentives) have significantly increased. Consider, the case of BSNL, who had been a local network provider in India since independence, the rise of companies in the early 2000s, led this company to significantly decrease their charges for the services it had provided. The company's CEO claimed to have an aim of providing landline to every household at a cheaper rate. This is a typical case of how a monopoly incentivizes it's exisiting customers to prevent them from leaving for the competition. This depicts how leadership reacts to competition, might help the consumers with better stance than before.

In conclusion, there is no clear comparision of which quality holds higher weight in terms of leadership. However, there are instances that cooperativer leader finds himself in an overall better situation rather a contending leader.