"Regulators and policymakers should respond to potential environmental threats even before the information is fully known or concrete."

The author contends that regulators and policymakers should respond to potential environmental threats before the information is fully known or concrete. Indisputably, environmental threats are not to be taken lightly while forming a policy because it is ultimately the environment which governs the existence of humans. We cannot think of jeopardizing the environment for policies/regulations where the latter can be amended easily but once the former is affected, restoring it to normal might be a herculean task. Nevertheless, threats which do not have solid evidence to back them cannot be considered as true and reliable. They might be a hoax or a rumour also. Thus, it would not be sensible of the regulators/policymakers to consider baseless threats without fully investigating them.

It is a common known fact that anything done hastily without considering the intricate details will lead to undesirable results. Keeping that in mind, adept regulators/policymakers are very meticulous before sketching out the final policy. It is unlikely that they have not foreseen an environmental threat. Even if they fail to be scrupulous, responding to a threat without looking into it deeply would prove to be imprudent. For instance, the Indian government's plan of installing a thermal power plant in the state of Karnataka(which was facing an energy crisis) was renounced by the opposition claiming that it would raise the air pollution index of that particular region. Nevertheless, without giving much concern to it the government proceeded with the plan and succeeded in adding another 1000 MW to the total installed capacity and fulfilling the energy demands. After 3 years, when the air pollution was measured, the opposition's claim was proved to be groundless. In this circumstance, if the government would have considered the opposition's conjecture then it would have certainly delayed or even cancelled the project. Consequently, it is obvious that the regulators din't respond to the threat without thorough investigation.

Furthermore, a regulatory body cannot waste its precious time on a hoax. Social media is the best place to spread such unsupported news and a few people who are unaware of the truth use this as a tool to circulate rumours. For example, there was a post on Facebook which claimed that Coca Cola was dumping its factory waste in the river Kaveri thereby harming the marine life. The company was actually disposing its waste but after treating it with chemicals which made it completely benign. Hence, all the evidence provided has demonstrated that there has to be a solid evidence backing the threat.

Admittedly, the threats are sometimes plausible and can lead to major environmental disasters. But, this is specifically true when it is proved and examples supporting it. There have been many cases where the potential environment threats were ignored even when they had "credible and widely known explanations" . Be it the Bhopal gas tragedy, radioactive disposal, ozone layer depletion and pollution of oceans by plastic. However, the above argument does not constitute sufficient support to claim that the policymakers should respond to these threats without fully knowing the consequences.

To reiterate, although the threats are not to be taken lightly before framing a policy/regulation, they have to be examined thoroughly and the regulators should gather supporting evidence before jumping into conclusions.