Scandals are useful because they focus attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could

Nowadays, people are surrounded by media and public news. Therefore, people begin to curious what is the most efficient way to drag population’s attention. Some believe that no other news can be as useful as scandals in attracting attention, but others still double about that. So is there any other ways can focus attention on problems like scandals has become a thorn topic.

First of all, scandals are certainly a good way to focus citizens’ attention. We all have the experience that when a scandal come out, people will soon turn their mind to problems it probes and begin to talk about it anywhere. It seems that in today’s society, scandals are the only thing has such power and no other way can compete with them. But why scandals are so useful to attract public’s attention? One of the most important reasons should be that people related them to their own lives. Problems like the safety of food and environmental pollution are all relevant to every person. But those problems are very common in our daily life so without scandals, people will hardly remind these substantial issues. Therefore, when scandal come out, people found their life are in the threat of those problems so that they spend more time discussing and evaluating them.

Scandals are very important in focus attention, however, does that mean there is no other way can have such power? Of course the answer is no. Actually, scandals are useful only in this peaceful era. If the county is in war or in poverty, people may not have time and energy to care about those things. Admittedly, in many time, the best way to focus people’s attention is speech. A good speaker and a topic match the country’s need can attract social’s attention in an incredible way. Martin Luther King, for example, spoke to the public that “I have a dream” which speak out thousands of black American’s dream to the freedom and equality of right, which makes the whole social begin to review the relationship between black and white. People began to think about the liberty and right for every citizen without evaluate them rely on their regions and races.

According to that, speaker and reformers do have the power to drag public attention on some problems, and some times they will be more useful than scandals. Therefore, it is improper to say that scandals are the most effective way to focus public’s attention that no other ways ever could. Yet, scandals and bad news are spread fast in many situations but the most powerful way to accumulate attention is to evoke their faith and inspire.