Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Scandals have been a part of almost every field. They involve shocking, immoral or illegal behavior of people which is not approved of in the society. Because of their immoral nature they raise different extreme feelings and reactions amongst people. A scandal is therefore a problem generated in the society which becomes a concern and issue for a larger section of the society.

It is correct that we learn by making mistakes. It is only with experience of dealing with difficult situations that a person becomes wiser and practical. The problem forces you to try all the possible solutions and you come up with a permanent and lasting solution. Therefore, there is increased number of chances of not repeating it again. This type of learning that comes by actually committing mistakes lasts longer and you will never forget it. However, if you prepare for a problem that you might face in future, you are not going to pay as much attention to it as you pay to the existing problem.

When the problem takes shape of a scandal, there are more people involved and affected by it. The feelings and sentiments of people are affected and finding a solution becomes all the more difficult. It disrupts the peace, law and order of a place. It becomes very important to take control and find a solution of such a situation. Hence it becomes the thing of utmost importance for any leader to bring back the situation of peace and normalcy.

This task is also done by reformers and speakers. However, the difference lies in the fact that reformers preach and spread morally and legally correct practices while in a scandal the leader practically struggles to find a solution. It is human nature to give more importance to the existing problems rather than prepare for a problem that you might face in future. Then comes the question, "Is the solution found for an existing problem better than that for a problem that one might face is future?" It may not be easy to answer this because the practicality of a solution is seen only by practicing it. However, the work done by reformers cannot be ignored. It is but for them that a society holds its morals and values.

We can then understand that scandals and existing problems are useful for us in a way since they help in focusing our attention more towards the problem and its solution. However, who takes up the responsibility of the situation? Considering that it involves a large number of people, a solution cannot be found out unless all or the majority of people are willing to find a solution and comply by the rules. A leader alone cannot find a permanent solution. Therefore, it depends upon the attitude of the society as a whole to look at the scandal as a common problem and not remain divided over it. This is where a reformer steps in. He unites people by preaching morally correct and good values. It is only by his teachings that a change can be brought in the thinking of people and a lasting solution be found by the authorities.

Conclusively, it can be said that the scandals definitely focus our attention towards the problems but a solution to the problem is found only when the attitude of people concerned is reformed.