Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals may catch people’s eyes but hardly incite effective actions due to its nature focusing on the people who cause the scandals, not the problem itself. By holding this opinion, I only partially agree with the statement.

To begin with, it is no secret that people are attracted by scandals, especially about the private lives of celebrities. However, most of these types of scandals emphasize the ‘individual’ who creates the problem, instead of the ‘reason’ leading to the problem. Therefore, it is rare to motivate productive discussion to truly change the problems that are revealed by the scandals. For example, when the ex-US president Bill Cillinton was involved in the sexual scandal with his secretary, the mainstream reports focused on whether the behavior truly happened, instead of investigating the sexual oppression that may have occurred systematically under power disparity conditions. Underscore the individual who arouses the scandal can actually undermine the real attention to solve the problems.

Another perspective to examine this statement is that with the assistance of technology, more information is transparent to the mass. As a result, speakers or reformers actually hold more critical data to conceal any problem than before. With the powerful data and techniques, the investigation of any problem should be more systematically performed as opposed to occasional reports of scandals. For instance, any government corruption is systematically checked periodically, and there is a worldwide report to compare different levels of government corruptions. By doing so, citizen’s can monitor government's actions in advance, instead of relying merely on scandals to punish any stakeholders who are involved.

However, we should not neglect the scandals that still play vital roles in countries which are led by dictatorship. Due to the lack of a systematic way to monitor the government, the scandals help people to understand the problematic policies. For example, during the outbreak of coronavirus, scandals relating to the chinese government on hiding the real data of the disease do help the world initiate further investigation on chinese government's responsibility on the pandemic.

In conclusion, I still believe the scandal is not the best way to solve the problems while when no formal mechanism is in place, scandals may help the mass to get close to the core of governments’ problematic behaviors.