Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals have the potential to impact majority of population adversely. Every scandal not only create economic growth and inflammatory topic to debate for news channel but it also question the robustness of any society, framework and policy. Many including the author consider them useful as they highlight our attentions to problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could. I strongly disagree with this statement for three reasons.

Firstly, although scandals do gather lot of attention but their manifestation can have significant negative impact on majority. Hence, saying them useful is nonetheless to appreciating wrongdoing. E.g. corruption scandal by minister in India- Mr. Lallu yadav not only wasted thousand of crores of taxpayer's money but it also cost more than million cows to die because of poor quality food served to them. Such highly deteriorating manifestation can never be useful. Even if the outcome reveals about any loophole that can be exploited by some selfish people.

Secondly, author is wrong to say scandals focus problems in ways that no speaker/reformer ever could. As often scandals that happened in one country not happened in any other countries. It was reformer's teaching that saved one country from identical scandals that happened at other place. They provided one country with tools and knowledge to priorly tackle any scandals from occurring. E.g. the several scandals of corruption that happened in India never happened in countries like Germany and Canada. It was possible only because their reformers/speakers were aware of such upcoming problems and their government were having tools to avoid such negative manifestation. Hence, many times reformers in history reformers and speakers were able to focus on problems in way similar to scandals but their voice didn't reach worldwide. Such scenarios immensely diminish author's claim.

One may argue that scandals at times do brings immediate attention of the majority of population to loopholes in their society, beliefs or framework. Undoubtedly it is true, but even in such cases calling it useful is an exaggeration. Because what is useful is to develop a solution before it adversely impact the nation; which to my best knowledge, only speaker and reformers do! Scandals focus on loopholes when it's already too late to act upon and things are out of hands. At last that's what make them scandals!

Hence, it is incorrect to say that scandals are useful. Yes, they gather immediate attention, but that attention is gathered when damage has already taken place. It is reformers and speakers who prepare us to avoid occurrence of scandals. It is them who teach us all the precautions and it is precaution which is more useful.