Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In today's world, due to the increased exposure to myriad news agencies and the increased capabilities of those news agencies to access covert information, we hear about various scandals happening around the world every now and then. The prompt suggests that the scandals are useful as they focus our attention on the problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could. Are they really as useful as suggested in the prompt? I disagree with the prompt and feel that the scandals are more malevolent than benevolent as suggested in the prompt for the following reasons.

Firsly, scandals come into the foreground only after the damage has been done. There is a famous saying in our locality which goes like, "There is no use applying medicine after burning your hands". Likewise, one can go to an extent of saying that scandals are truculent as they might have caused irrevocable damage to a great extent which could have been prevent if care had been taken since the beginning. For instance, let us take the case of Mr. Vijay Malaya in India. He was a liquor barron who had taken large loans from the banks to run his airlines business. However, his airline business did not turn out to be a successful venture contrary to the likes of himself as well as the banks who provided loans to him. By the time the banks realized that there was some scandal regarding the laons given to him, the liquor barron moved to a different country. The media projected as one of the major scandals and were able to muster the attention of almost the entire nation. But, to the dismay of the banks, the Government of India could not carry out legal charges against him as the country in wihich he presently resides does not come under the jurisdiction of India. Who are at lose? The banks who gave him loans inordinately, the employees who work in those banks, the families of those employees and the list goes on. Hence, scandals are menacing as they come into the light only after the damage has been done.

Secondly, it is true that scandals can attract the attention of a large number of people that otherwise would not have happened. But, this could be for the wrong reasons. Scandals can alert the people involved in other scandals. They serve as a harbinger for people busy with mallicious acts. Consequently, those people take extra care and change their further course of actions to make sure that they are not caught in the act. As one can see, scandals equally draw the attention of felon as well and help them avert possible arrest as quicly as possible.

However, in the realms of our discussion, we cannot ignore an exception. By attracting the attention of masses, scandal can alert the people to watch out for similar behavior in other areas like sexual abuse, mass child abuse, violation of human rights etc.

To recapitulate, scandals are harmful as people become cognizant of such acts only after irreversible damage has already been done and they alert miscreants so that they don't get caught as easily otherwise. However, they can also alert people to watch out for such incidences in other suspecious places as well.