Schools should cut funding for extracurricular activities such as sports and the arts when school buildings

are in need of repair.

In this competitive world, it is the extracurricluar activites which distinguishes kids from each other. Many a times these programmes are either not even present in the school or are poorly funded to begin with.These gamut of activities ranging from arts to sports often become the deciding factor for getting a college admission. While, the importance of these activities cannot be denied, in times of dire needs such as repairing of school buildings, it becomes essential to cut funding from these programmes in order to make provisions for the infrastructure.

Take for instance, the drama and threatical society in a school. For putting on a great performance it is essential the auditorium is well maintained and the school building provides the necessary light and sound conditions. Even if the actors performed well in a play, if the conditions of the auditorium is deplorable then the play will be a failure by most accounts. It makes sense in such cases to rather, cut the budget of the club and spend it on repairing the auditorium first to ensure the success of the play.

More often than not, atleast here in United States competitive sports like basket ball is played inside the school in a gymnasium with a court. The highly competitive games these days draw out crowds and even scouts from professional teams. If the school facilities are not proper to begin with, what is even the point of conducting these games? Also, If the buildings are dilapidated state then its a safety hazard for both students playing or practicising and the coach coaching.

Infrastructure forms a critical component of a school, more so than the extracurricular programmes. And it makes sense to cut funding when the justification can't be made. Ultimately, financial decisions for a school should be made with proper planning. The building repair work could be carried on during the school vacations, which can ensure that when students return to school they have all the right infrastructure to succeed and become a well rounded individual.