Schools should do more to prepare students for non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Education is one of the assets which every individual must possess in the 21st century. Education brings awareness and knowledge which is crucial for the existence of every individual. Accordingly, schools are constantly adapting the new teaching methods to avail the best possible academic facilities to their students in the fields of mathematics, science, history, geography, literature, etc. However, while doing so they also need to understand that it is also a school's role to inculcate basic life skills which are indifferent to the academic life of the children. Adulthood focuses mostly on nonacademic life and it is a school's responsibility to prepare the child for it.

When one begins to earn after completing their education, they have to start thinking of better investment opportunities. However, no schools provide classes on financial literacy. Due to this, at this stage, many people have to begin learning about how to manage their finances some succeed while some become gullible to the hoax investment schemes. As per a survey report, in India, almost 76% percent of people are financially illiterate. Considering it as the third-highest populated country in the world, this is a vast number. This leads me to raise a question to what extent does solving the complicated linear algebra and calculus problems which most of them will be hardly using in the real world help them? Hence, schools need to emphasize more on bringing about awareness about financial literacy so that people would not have to depend on other agencies to manage their finances.

Analytical ability is considered to be one of the most important life skill. It is required in every field for solving any problem. To break down a problem and find a viable solution for it is a basic skill that every individual need to possess. In Microsoft interviews, people have said to encounter. In job interviews, people have been asked situation-based questions. This questions cannot be answered by just merely having academic knowledge. One needs to develop an analytical ability within them to face such situations. Schools need to focus on developing their students in this direction as well.

Tech giants such as Microsoft have been recorded to ask questions riddle questions such as 'Why is a sewer grate round and not square?, Why does Fevicol which is used to stick commodities does not itself get stuck to its container? '.One needs to have a well-rounded knowledge of the real world to answer such questions. The obsolete and mundane memorize the concepts practice taught in school does not prepare a child for such situations.

Education is inarguably the most important asset which every individual should possess. Schools should leave no stones unturned to ensure that every student should be well versed in basic mathematics and they should be able to articulate their thoughts verbally as well as theoretically. However, schools also need to emphasize on the basic life skills which are mandatory for existence in today's erratic and ever-competitive world. It becomes a school's responsibility to prepare its students for the skills needed to exist in this new world.