Science and Technology can solve all of society's problems

We live in a time where most of our actions are highly dependent on products of science and technology. These gadgets owe their indispensability in our lives to the fact that they make our day easier and reduce the effort we need to put to do our tasks.

Science and Technology has forever been holding an integral place in trying to improving society in one way or another. The very fact that we are currently able to communicate with people across the globe with something as mere as a 'ping' is an example supporting this case statement. The ease in global communication and commutation is allowing our societies to be exposed to diversities with respect to the way other people handle their common problems and giving us opportunities to inculcate many of these in our own societies. This also allows different thinkers to be aware of the problems in various parts of the world and put their minds to solving them - much like Bill and Melinda Gates pushing themselves to solve the issues of slums and improper sanitation in parts of South Africa and India.

What we also need to consider though, is how the solution to one of societies' problems has often led to the beginning of one more problem, if not more. This is well justified with the introduction of plastic in our day-to-day lives to make containing and packaging things easier. The adverse effect of this invention however, is the proper disposal or even the effect of this material on nature was never made known to the average person till it was too late. Now, we have piles of plastic waste being incinerated only to release toxic gases into the air around us and beneath the surface, kill millions of sea creatures in one way or the other. These effects are multiplying in ways that we are barely able to curb these problems. Despite having many news articles and social media ads about ways in which one scientist or even a school student discovers a new solution every day to these problems, there are other factors in our society governing the solutions to these problems - the bare human emotion of greed.

This emotion plays an even more important role in shaping our societies and solving our problems. The reason being that the implication of the innumerable partial or complete solutions to our societal problems can be solved just by making these technologies available to the average person. However, the roadblock in this step is the fact that there are human beings forming a committee driven by the greed of power and the unquenchable thirst to continue to stay in power. Politics and politicians' moral compasses have a lot more to say in how our society functions in a matter that only they can, in the end make these amazing creations of science available to us by governing the manufacturing, production, costing and the distribution of these systems.

In conclusion, science and technology will keep progressing - towards both the benefit and (knowingly or unknowingly) harm towards our society, but this does not decide the impact on society unless we as responsible people measure the appropriateness of the usage of these technologies. Of course, many a times, the prescience is unfathomable by us or even scientists, and we can count on such instances to lose the excessive dependability on science to solve all our society's problems.