"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

In this augument the author urge to state that by increasing quantity of domitories in Buckingham college it will more likely to result in enrollment for procpective students. To support his recommendation he states that there is a linear increase in rate of enrollment of students in college which will more likely to be double in upcoming 50 years. I find this argument unconvincing for some reasons.

First, Buckingham Collage is situated in the heart of city; at the centre, so there is no a dearth for accomodation for students attending the college and students applying for next year. There are phethlora of off-campus accomodations available around it. Current Off-campus students, some are living in rented apartments where they usualy divide their rent with number of occupancies and it turns out to be cheaper than dormitories. There are thirty percent of students who have the residence in the same city, thereafter, would not be needing any on-campus housing facilities. Many are even comfortable living off-campus as, being health concious, they can make their own food and are not imposed to pay for there food in dormitories which seems expensive. Also there are cleaning and security fee that are compulsory for every students living in on-campus. Therefore, it is presumption to say that building up new dormitories will result in increase for on-campus house which prospective students will prefer.

Second, author speculated that increasing in housing for collages will attract freshmen students but forgets to discuss the cost incur for building it. It is equally possible to assume that the college do not have the necessary funds to act upon this decision. Yearly, the college organise a science competition where Research work of Undergraduate and post-graduate students is evaluated which is an expensive event and perhaps, because of that, college is in debt from the corporate loans they have taken from the bank. Also after building up of new dormitories there will be a need of new staff for house keeping , accounts, warden, etc to maintain it where college have to pay ther salaries and other allowance. It seems to me that it is not very cost effective way for the college to be a showcase to the upcoming students about their new dormitories.

Finally, I agree that new shinny dormitories will enhance the look for the collage and put a new face for the upcoming students and will help to convince parents to send their child to the collage but again, this college stands as one of the best college in the town and has the reputation increrase in published research work which seems sufficient to impress the prospective students.

In conclusion, this argument is vague and ambiguous. Author must at very least should provide the statistics of reasonable cost for new planned dormitories in comparison to offf-campus apartments and could create a survey for both , current and upcoming students to ensure whethere there is a real need for increasing the on-campus housing.