Should teachers' salary be based on students' academic performance?

Salaries are the result of a complex and intricate system of incentives. It is universally accepted that those who work harder should be better compensated than those who choose to provide less effort. As such, some have suggested that in order for teachers to be incentivized to work harder they should be compensated based on their students’ academic performance. This, however, is undesirable, as students academic performance is often times not indicative of teacher’s efforts, and since such practice my lend themselves to expediency and effectively disadvantage low-income students.

The role of a teacher is not a simple one. We entrust teachers with society’s most valuable assets, its youth. We expect teachers to educate them on topics we deem important, such as mathematics of English, but more importantly we expect them to educate our children. Education encompasses a myriad of topics which extend far beyond the realm of academics. They include values, morals and principles which we wish our kids would abide by. It is a testament to this near ubiquitous consensus that most parents would take umbrage at the notion of a convicted felon teaching their children, despite any potential expertise they may have at physics or chemistry. Nevertheless, our education system is geared to only evaluate teachers on the basis of students’ academic performance. Therefore, linking their salaries to student’s performance would seem to act as a poor indicator of their quality as teachers.

Furthermore, making teacher’s salaries contingent on student performance may prove counter-productive as it may incentivize expediency on the part of the teachers. A teacher knowing their wages depend on their student’s performance may be inclined to purposefully design easy examination or provide their students with answers to external evaluations.

Additionally it is a well documented phenomenon that students coming from lower-income households tend to underperform in school compared to their more affluent peers. This may result from a myriad of reasons, such as decreased access to extracurricular tutoring as well as less support at home. If such a wage-differentiated system were to be implemented it would likely disincentive teachers from teaching in lower-income neighbourhoods as they would likely receive lower compensation than that they could garner at richer boroughs.

One may nonetheless argue that performance-based wage-differentiation is favourable, as surely good teachers should be compensated accordingly. After all, a salesmen who sales a million dollars worth of goods should not have to share the same salary as that which has yet to made a sale. Such argument is completely reasonable, however, it rests on the mistaken assumption that students performance is an indicator of the quality of their teachers. Consequently, alternative schemes could be devised; such as paying teachers for the amount of time they spend preparing their lessons prior to teaching.

All in all, it is imperative to keep in mind that teacher’s roles are not solely academic. Perhaps that is the role of the university lecturer, however, a school teacher is first and foremost an educator. Therefore, it would due a great disservice, not to mention harm, if we were to induce our teachers as we do salesmen. Teachers must therefore not be paid on the basis of an unreliable proxy of their true quality.