Teachers should teach facts after explaining the ideas trends, and concepts into the minds of students

Facts are some massive important statements that are certainly the conclusion of an entire theory or research conducted by someone. It becomes extremely important for students to understand the ideas, trends, and concepts behind facts as these are the supporting pillars of those facts. Thus, I completely agree with the recommendation that Educators should definitely incorporate knowledge about ideas, trends, and concepts into the minds of students before merely telling them the facts associated with them, as these help them understand the hidden mystery or background behind those facts.

To explain my stand, let me take the example of a Business Management class where students are nurtured to be young entrepreneurs or brilliant managers who can run the powerhouses of the world. Here the teachers are trained to initially just present a certain scenario in front of them, ask them to brainstorm their actions, thoughts, ideas, perceptions, etc., and then at the concluding phase the teachers explain to them a fact of how they should act or react in certain kind of circumstance. Had the teacher told them the fact that if this situation arises act this way, then students might not have been able to brainstorm and get valuable insights from the fact.

A similar situation arises in Medicine. Medical students have a well-arranged curriculum where they commence with a basic understanding of human anatomy including topics like systems in the human body, how organs react to certain medications, what implications those medications have on the body, and much more, and then their concepts of how a patient should be dealt at a certain situation becomes clear. They understand the trend behind the evolution of these biological conditions and how they should be treated. An example of this could be if doctors are taught to give a certain kind of medicine for specific problems, like paracetamol for fever, they would never come to know exactly what kind of fever it is, or which disease is linked with that disease. Here just mere facts don't work.

The education system is often misunderstood for only focusing on the grades of students, but I think if we take a close look at the curriculum followed by top colleges in the world today, we will see that even they do not focus on teaching facts directly. Several efforts are taken to establish a health discussion in class where all parameters behind understanding a fact are seen and understood. Only after detailed analysis, they conclude accepting a fact. Here I said accepting because there are always certain facts that were relevant earlier, but might not be significant in modern days. These things should also be considered before merely teaching facts to students.

So to conclude, I'd like to say that Educators be it in Medicine class, Business class, or even a history class, need to make sure that they first teach or discuss ideas, trends, and in-depth concepts behind certain facts and then explain the facts, as this will act like building blocks for students understanding of the situation and how a fact should be implemented in a certain kind of situation. This gives students an opportunity to dig deep into the depth of these facts and their background. It gives them knowledge of things like why we consider this as a fact, whether is it really relevant these days, what it implies, and so on.