Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.
Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and
supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences
shape your position.
The Darwinian theory of evolution states in any environment, there will always be struggle for the existence, and the fittest and smartest
will always survive in the end. Planet Earth has an evolution history of 800 million years. Species have evolved over time, and become
extinct, in turn to be replaced by organisms higher up the evolutionary ladder. The weaker is replaced by the strongest, which stays until
some thing even more better comes along. For millions of years this process has been occurring without any human interference. It can be
stretched to say that the same evolution process. from chimps to Homo Sapiens we have evolved in the finest versions of
ourselves. Evolution and extinction of any species is natural process critical for maintaining the balance of the existing ecosystem.
Tweaking this balance may jeopardize the ecosystem in ways unforeseen before. Through technological advancements we have reached a stage
in the evolution where we have the ability to save the species on the verge of extinction by carefully executed planning. But it should be
taken into consideration that saving that species from an extinction level event may cause ripples in the ecosystem that are more
disastrous than the alternative.
Hypothetically considering the extinction of dinosaurs, If these organisms had not gone extinct some 600
million years ago, the evolution chain which led to the creation of Homo Spaiens would have been curbed at its roots. The world we know
today would not have existed if the events in the past had not happened exactly in the way which they did. Tweaking or altering any part
of the natural process would lead to unimaginable changes in our surroundings which cannot be undone.
But on the same hand, we have reached the point where humans are already affecting the ecosystem in which we survive. we are polluting
the waters, deforesting scores of hectares of land, destroying the environment as we know it on daily basis. Effect of this mass
destruction can be seen in the dwindling numbers of the some exotic species found even in the most desolate corners of the world.
Their extinction is not a naturally planned event but a by product of the deteriorating ecosystem which sustains them. For these organisms,
our help is not only required but paramount for their survival. Because in all the words of technicality, we have put them in a position
where extinction has become an early possibility.
So, tweaking with the natural extinction of species is definitely not the optimal course of action. doing this may cause problems
that will unravel as the time goes by. But on the same time, we have to take into consideration our actions affecting the lifeline
of the species. If we find that intervention is causing the extinction, then it is our moral duty to intervene.